Review of The Night That Changed Everything by Laura Tait and Jimmy Rice

Published: 24th March 2016
Publisher:
Transworld
Pages: 416

Blurb: 

Rebecca is the only girl she knows who didn’t cry at the end of Titanic. Ben is the only man he knows who did. Rebecca’s untidy but Ben doesn’t mind picking up her pieces. Ben is laid back by Rebecca keeps him on his toes. They’re a perfect match. Nothing can come between them. Or so they think. When a throwaway comment reveals a secret from the past, their love story is rewritten. Can they recover from the night that changed everything? And how do you forgive when you can’t forget?

Review:

Thank you to Transworld for kindly sending me a review copy.

The plot begins with opening night at Jamie’s new bar where we met Rebecca, our main leading lady slowly being chatted up by the absolute hunk that is Ben. After that night, we don’t hear anything else about their new relationship until we see them eleven months later when the time has come to meet the parents and take pregnancy tests..

“It’s not that I want to keep it a secret or anything. I just find it hard to…”

When the truth is revealed, the shizzle really does hit the fan and my heart ached for Rebecca. The strong amount of emotions which circulated around her mind where very clearly portrayed throughout the narrative in such a superb light. As the truth comes spluttering out, Laura and Jimmy take the readers back in time to exactly a year ago which I really, really enjoyed. The night when the “oops, did I really blurt that out?” comment really does change everything about Rebecca and Ben’s relationship – they go from happy duvet days to sleeping on a mutual friend’s couch to avoiding calls. It’s not just their lives which are affected, it’s their friends as well especially Jamie (I just adored him) and Danielle, but I liked the fact that Laura and Jimmy introduced their work friends as people who Rebecca and Ben could slowly begin to trust.

“He reckons he’s allowed to give me a dead arm every time my face looks like one of those miserable fish you see on David Attenborough shows.”

It didn’t surprise me that Laura and Jimmy tricks the readers ever so slightly in regards to the title. It’s really not what you think. Wow. I didn’t know whether to cry or, well, to cry.. Everything really did change and I was a little bit worried about the friends when it all happened. What would happen to them? Would they come together or drift apart?

“And I know without having to be told that everything, everything, has changed.”

When I read this book in December, I knew already that I would enjoy it simply because Laura and Jimmy can do no wrong. Little did I know that it would allow me to fall madly in love with the plot, cry my eyes out and laugh on a crowded train. It’s definitely going to be THE chick-lit book of the year – it’s everything you could need in a narrative and so much more. The duo have out done themselves once more.

Amazon UK Link // Twitter // Instagram

