Lovely Things

Lovely Things // Week 16

Hello from the other side,

So, this is my last Lovely Things post coming to you from Australia *cue the boos*. Next Sunday, I will be in Sydney with my cousins and I won’t have my laptop with me to update you all. I will *hopefully* bring you a post about my final trip before I leave, perhaps whilst I’m in Brisbane airport.

What has happened this week? Well…

Blue Skies, I Love Thee

This week, I went into one of the local towns in order to get my watch fixed and as I was waiting for the bus, I took a moment or two to appreciate my surroundings; no cars in sight, birds chirping away, blue skies, soaring mountains and the glorious warm weather. Whilst I’ve been here, I’ve taken a lot of pictures to send back home to my parents and grandparents, but this is the only time that I’ve stopped to appreciate what is around me. I did a lot of this whilst I was in New Zealand because it was like going home and who knows when I’ll be back there again. This is a lesson to myself to take pictures but to also look around for a few moments and remember with my own eyes rather than a captured image. But don’t worry, I’ll still take plenty of snaps..

LT_2

Reading

Everyone knows how much I love to read and recently, it has been The Art Of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson. Hopefully by the time I set this post to go live for you, I will have finished it. I don’t wish to go into too much detail but if you’re a fan of Young Adult novels with a very strong message then you’ll enjoy it. One of my ex-work colleagues constantly keeps recommending it to me so I decided to purchase it and well, I flipping love it. I took some time out this week to go and sit in a coffee shop to just read. It was utter bliss. I know you can have a cup of tea and read at home, but I surprisingly enjoyed it.

LT_4

Autumn

At the beginning of the month, the clocks changed and Australia went from Summer to Autumn. Honestly, the only difference I’ve noticed are the trees. It’s still warm with chilly evenings but it’s worth it to capture these beautiful trees. I don’t know about where you might live, but in the North West of England, I’ve never see leaves turn this colour before. Yes, it’s a tree and I’m loving the colour.

LT_6

Sunsets

One of my favourite things about Australia is the sunsets. Where my cousin lives, you can see the mountains in the distance and around 5/6 in an evening, the sun begins to set – if we’re lucky, it’s a gorgeous colour. I’m most definitely going to miss seeing them, that’s for sure.

LT_8

Quality Cousin Time

Over the past week, my youngest cousinΒ who is 17 has been off from school with it being the holidays. She’s currently throwing a sponge full of blue paint at her wall. Don’t ask. But during her time off, we’ve arranged a trip to Wollongong & Sydney next weekend with my other cousins and we’ve also been having movie nights. I’ve known her for quite a few years (thank you Facebook), but during the past two months we’ve spent every day together and I absolutely adore the socks off her. She is a mini me – she’s completely cuckoo like myself but we seem to do nothing but laugh. I just love her and I’m going to miss her heaps.

What have you been up too this week? Let me know in the comments below. Don’t forget – there won’t be a Lovely Things post next Sunday (I’m in Sydney!), so the next one will be on the 1st of May.

EL xx

 

 

 

