Lovely Things // Week 24

Mornin’ all,

It only seems like five minutes ago that I was writing up last week’s Lovely Things post and now we’re here again. I feel like this week has been all about getting life admin organised and sorting myself out so I wanted to take a step back from the standard Sunday post and have a proper heart-to-heart about the year so far…

LT24

The first six months have flown by (yes, I know, everyone says that but it’s true). I began the year fast asleep before being woken up by the midnight fireworks – that’s how I like to ring in the New Year: by ignoring it. I’m not one of those people who convinces myself that I need to make resolutions because we all know, we’re going to break them. I decided that this year, I was going to work out more and drink more water and so far, so good.

Out of the twenty-five years I’ve been alive, I think this one has challenged me the most. At the end of January, I booked flights to Australia and New Zealand for two months to see my family and attend my Uncle’s funeral. It’s weird to think that within two years, I’m the girl who has gone from having a panic attack in Euston Station (in front of Brendan Brady) to being the girl who has been on ten flights to the other side of the world and back, by herself. The mind works in very mysterious ways…

With travelling by myself meant that I was the only person who I could rely on 100%. Yes, you have those family members and certain friends who always claim to be there for you at the drop of a hat, but in reality, they’re not. Truth be told, you can only truly rely on yourself. It’s a sad revelation but after so many people stabbing me in the back recently, it’s become my life motto.

Over the remaining six months of the year, I have three goals… totally not going to share them though. Ha!

What has been the most challenging thing you’ve done so far in 2016?

Let me know in the comments below.

EL xx

