Lifestyle · Travel

22 Hours In Chester

Morning all,

From the delicious restaurants and hidden cafes to the cute vintage shops and cobbled streets, Chester has quickly become one of my favourite places to visit in the North West. When my boyfriend was promoted last week, we decided to book a last-minute Travelodge hotel and enjoy a little getaway. For Sunday evening, it was £44 which was brilliant as we were a five-minute walk from the shops and restaurants.

2

With the car journey taking just under an hour, we stopped off at Costa Coffee before hand to pick up some drinks before hitting the road. At the time, I was reading No Turning Back by Tracy Buchanan which was incredible and the perfect book for a little trip.

After checking in around 4pm, we chilled out in our room before heading out to dinner. The original plan was Zizzi’s but for some unknown reason, it was closed but thankfully, the Mr knew a wonderful Italian just around the corner and OH MY, it didn’t disappoint.

3

La Fattoria is a gorgeous Italian restaurant tucked away from the other places to eat but it’s perfect for a romantic dinner date or to celebrate a birthday (five times, the lights were switched off and people were sung to!). For starters, we shared garlic bread with oils and for my main course, I opted for Rigatoni De Pollo which is chicken, broccoli, garlic, onions and cream. It’s such a simple dish and I won’t lie, it hit every expectation and then some. For dessert, I ordered vanilla and strawberry gelato which was the perfect ending to a very tasty celebratory meal.

4 5 6On Monday morning, we had a little bit of a lie-in (I say ‘we,’ meaning him as I woke up at my usual 8:30am). We never had any solid plans of where we wanted to eat but as we checked out at the hotel around 10:30am, we were pretty hangry. The previous evening, we had walked past Coast To Coast and to our surprise, they did brunch and once I spotted Eggs Benedict on the menu, I knew it was a winner. It is safe to say that neither of us ate until our tea that evening.

98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105

Once breakfast had been demolished, we really needed to walk it off and so Grosvenor Park was the best option. I’ve never been around the park before so naturally, my camera was in my hand to take plenty of snaps.

106
107
108
109
110
111
112
113
114

In between browsing the shops, we stepped inside the cathedral for a walk around and it is so beautiful. Stained glass windows are stunning when the light hits it in the right spots – I just couldn’t stop taking pictures.

Chester was perfect for a little getaway, but where to next? Send me your recommendations of where you like to visit in the UK.

EL xx

