Review of We Were On A Break by Lindsey Kelk

wewereonabreak
Published: 
6th October 2016
Publisher:
Harper Collins
Pages:
416

Blurb:

There’s nothing worse than the last day of holiday. Oh wait, there is. When what should have been a proposal turns into a break, Liv and Adam find themselves on opposite sides of the life they had mapped out. Friends and family all think they’re crazy; Liv throws herself into work – animals are so much simpler than humans – and Adam tries to get himself out of the hole he’s dug. But as the short break becomes a chasm, can they find a way back to each other? Most importantly, do they want to?

Review:

Thank you to Harper Collins for kindly sending me a review copy.

Liv and Adam are on holiday in Mexico and rumour has it, there is going to be a proposal. The plot was divided between both points of view which I absolutely adored because Lindsey writes male and female characters extremely well. When Adam decides that a break is a good idea, Liv goes into over-thinking mode and oh my, it was as if I was reading my own thoughts at times – she was SO relatable, it was ridiculous.

“I had been told there was a ring, I had been told the ring was coming to Mexico – and now I wanted the bloody ring. I was Gollum, only with slightly better hair.”

When Adam wants to patch things up, a spanner is thrown into Liv’s career – her Dad wants her to take over the vet surgery by herself and as she goes straight into panic mode, the last thing she wants to think about is her relationship. Aside from her personal life, Liv’s friendship with her co-worker David was very enjoyable to read; they got on well, he was funny and they knew each other down to a T. Yet when he introduces her to Tinder for a quick ego boost, I sensed that Adam wouldn’t approve but when an attractive woman comes into his life, it allowed the plot to have a boost of excitement and I wondered as to where they would be taken next.

“Then I realised what was wrong with Henry’s kisses. They weren’t Adam’s.”

As the narrative comes to an end, their relationship becomes rocky yet relatable as it was everything I’d expect from a break. Would anything change when Liv returned from Japan? Well, it is fiction after all, anything can happen! It was a sweet ending which allowed the plot to come to a lovely round ending. I haven’t read one of Lindsey’s books for about a year and within the first chapter, I was reminded of how fresh, funny and entertaining her writing is.

Twitter // Amazon UK Link

One thought on “Review of We Were On A Break by Lindsey Kelk

Comments are closed.