Books · Review

Review of What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne

hollybourne

Published: 1st August 2016
Publisher:
Usborne
Pages:
432

Blurb:

HOW TO START A FEMINIST REVOLUTION:

1. Call out anything that is unfair on one gender
2. Don’t call out the same thing twice (so you can sleep and breathe)
3. Always try to keep it funny
4. Don’t let anything slide. Even when you start to break…

Lottie’s determined to change the world with her #Vagilante vlog. Shame the trolls have other ideas…

Review:

Read my review of Book One HERE // Read my review of Book Two HERE

The third book in the Spinster Club series shows Lottie being sexually harassed by loud mouth builders on her way to college and she quickly begins to question whether it was her fault. Should she have worn that red lipstick? As always, Holly is very quick to draw readers into her plot as she allows an important topic to take over the storyline so her readers (whether we’re young or old) are able to take something away with them once they read the final chapter. Just like the other two Spinster Club books, Lottie is surrounded by her two best friends and with their assistance, she figures out a plan which will, hopefully, one day, help women in the world.

“Red lipstick girl. I like what you’ve got on today, red lipstick girl.”

Lottie’s “bonkers” plan of calling out day-to-day sexist aspects was a force to be reckoned with. Teaming up with her two best friends and a new addition; Will, who was filming her project for his soon-to-be-career, Lottie holds no prisoners and from the moment she leaves the door, she is ready for action. But would she keep it up for a month and would it interfere with her interview with Cambridge? As time progresses during Lottie’s project, she meets with a journalist from a local newspaper about her feminist act and during one hungover morning, her friends quickly inform her that she’s gone viral.

“My vagina doesn’t prohibit me from paying for my own dough balls.”

As the plot drew closer to the end, Lottie’s future was in her hands and she had to choose whether to fight for what she believes in or pretend like the project never existed. With her face being plastered all over the Internet, she certainly has a lot of people talking about making an equal change. Overall, I have extremely enjoyed the Spinster Club books but this was probably my least favourite of the three and honestly, I don’t even know why. Lottie is a prime example of a strong character who desperately wants to make a difference in the world and you can’t help but applaud her for doing so. Yet for me, it just didn’t grab my attention as much as the two previous books did.

“I was Charlotte Thomas. I was a fighter. I was strong. I didn’t take any shit…”

Twitter // Amazon UK Link

