Books · Review

Review of Hello Me, It’s You by Anonymous

mhbook

Published: 10th October 2016
Pages: 132

Blurb:

Hello Me, it’s You is a collection of letters by young adults aged 17-24 about their experiences with mental health issues. The letters are written to their 16-year-old selves, giving beautifully honest advice, insight and encouragement for all that lays ahead of them.

Review:

This isn’t a story. It isn’t a piece of work from an author’s imagination. It’s real life. A book surrounding real people, writing about their battle with Mental Health to their younger selves. Ever since I read Reasons To Stay Alive by Matt Haig at the beginning of the year, I’ve wanted to learn more about MH. At the moment, mine is good. Actually no, that’s a lie, it’s flipping fantastic because I haven’t suffered from a panic attack in three years but that’s not why I read this book. I wanted to read other people’s stories because learning about Mental Health never ends, just because I’ve got mine under control doesn’t mean that I can stop learning about it.

When I saw Hello You, It’s Me on NetGalley, I was very intrigued about the book and several weeks later, I finally got round to reading it one rainy Thursday afternoon and within two hours, I had finished it. I want to do something a little different with today’s review (I hope you don’t mind), simply because this book speaks for itself so I’ve chosen a couple of my favourite quotes from people’s letters to share with you, in the hope that you’ll read this and pass it on to someone who may be struggling.

“A lot of people deal with mental health issues Han, and I hate to break it to you, but you’re one of them. And you know what? That’s okay. It’s not the end of the world.”

“Talking about it all is okay, not wanting to talk about it is okay too, don’t feel guilty either way!”

“Accept that you need help. There is nothing wrong about getting help and your problem is as important as anyone else’s problem.”

“If you are not happy somewhere then get out.”

“But you are strong and I am grateful at how strong you are, because you’ve made me a better person.”

Twitter // Amazon UK Link

