Favourite Books of 2016

10 DAYS TO GO!

I’m an avid reader, always have been and always will be. Paperback or Kindle – it doesn’t really bother me, as long as I’m reading and supporting authors. In 2015, I read a stupid amount of books, ones which I wasn’t particularly fussed about but this year, I’ve turned down an awful lot from publishers simply because I know they’re not my cup of tea. With my book reviews, I want to give you the best of the bunch, y’know?

This post is different to last years simply because there aren’t ten books and for once, they’re not in any order so I’ll tell you about them as I read them.

book0

Reasons To Stay Alive by Matt Haig

I’ve been very open and honest about my Mental Health here on my blog so when multiple people told me about this book, I jumped at the chance. It’s one of those which you have to read for yourself because everyone’s relationship with it will be different. I personally loved it and strongly believe that everyone who suffers from MH ought to read it. // REVIEW

book1

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

It’s the book everyone spoke about for months on end and now, it’s one of my absolute favourites. The story follows Theodore and Finch, two wonderful characters, who have no relationship but by the end of the book, they’ve connected in such a beautiful way. // REVIEW

book2

How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne

I adore Holly’s books, like seriously adore. She is quite possibly the best Young Adult author (in my books) and I could happily read her work for the rest of my life. As part of her Spinster Club book series, this is the second one and by far, my absolute favourite. Amber is in America with her Mum and step-Dad, soon enough, her adventure takes over her heart and it was AMAZING! I just loved it. Holly writes teenagers brilliantly and with her including Mental Health, you’re also learning at the same time. // REVIEW

book3

Follow Me by Angela Clarke

Oh this was good. I haven’t read a lot of mystery books this year, but when I was in Australia I had a real craving for reading one and when this popped up on my Kindle, I couldn’t put it down. Long story short: it’s about online stalking and it’s rather good. It would make a brilliant BBC drama. // REVIEW

book4

The One We Fell In Love With by Paige Toon

To no surprise, Paige Toon makes the list. Once again, she’s hit the nail on the head and I always devour her books. It’s quite the love triangle between Rose, Phoebe and Eliza when they all fall for the same man, Angus. It’s the perfect Chick-Lit book that you can relax with during any time of year. // REVIEW

book5

Always With Love by Giovanna Fletcher

With this book, Giovanna brought Sophie and Billy back (YAY!) and the book was truly brilliant. From LA to the cosy Rosefont Hill, the narrative was jam packed with wonderful descriptions and you know what I loved the most? The fact that two of my favourite characters were back. // REVIEW

book6

Two By Two by Nicholas Sparks

It goes without saying that Nicholas Sparks is my favourite American author and every time Little Brown sent me his latest book, I feel incredibly lucky. This book focused mainly on the relationship between a father and daughter, which I really liked. There’s three sides of love within the plot; divorce, rekindling and illness. It was a truly beautiful book. // REVIEW

Which books are been your favourite this year?

EL xx

