Blogmas · Books · Christmas · Lifestyle · Uncategorized

Feeling Hygge at Winter

Morning all,

If I said ‘cosy’ to you, what would you say?

To me, being cosy is all about being in comfortable clothes (preferably PJs), wrapped up in a blanket, drinking tea, being surrounded by candles and fairy lights so the room has a warming tone. Sounds rather lovely, doesn’t it?

hygge

When Penguin got in touch and told me about a book which is all about feeling cosy no matter the time of the year, I jumped at the chance to share it all with you.

The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking is such a lovely book to give this Christmas whether it’s your Mum, sisters, friend or fellow blogger. With discussions about food, clothing, Christmas, home and any season, this book is suitable for anyone!

I wanted to share with you how I get cosy in an evening.

1. Lights

In the evening here in the UK, it tends to get dark between 3:30pm and 4pm and the first thing I do is turn on all the festive lights. This includes the wreath on the front door, the garland around the fire place, the Christmas tree, the fake battery operated candles on the window sill and the fairy lights in my bedroom. For me, it’s all about warm lights and none of those cold, blue ones – we need to keep the room all cosy.

2. Clothing

PJs or onesie – take your pick. During December, I love wearing my tartan Primark PJs because they’re unbelievably cosy. The second I walk through the front door, my day clothes are being thrown on the floor (don’t worry, I do pick them up) and the PJs are thrown on. There’s something quite satisfying about going from normal clothes to cosy clothes. I own more PJs than clothes…

3. Candles

If you’ve read my blog for a while, you’ll know that I work with Yankee Candle on a regular basis and I’ve also featured a couple of other candles from Tesco and M&S. I flipping love candles – everything from the packaging to the scent (I’m sure the CCTV people enjoy watching my reactions because some aren’t that pleasant) to lighting them once I’m home. I’ve been loving Christmas Cookie by Yankee Candle quite a lot this December and I deeply regret not purchasing one of the medium jars (oops!) but as well as the sweet scent, I also love citrus ones as well – especially the three wick Citrus Fruit + Ginger one from Tesco because it is simply heaven in a jar.

4. Food

If I’m in the mood for something sweet to eat, I’ll opt for what I call “my Christmas chocolate” which is essentially the Dairy Milk Tree bar; its seriously delicious and only £1 in most supermarkets. If I go for that, then I’ll have a cup of tea. In our household, I’m the chief hot chocolate maker – nobody makes them like I do, so it’s really nice when we’re all cosy in the living room, watching a film and sipping on our hot chocolates. Oh Hygge of us.

5. Goodbye Social Media

 Around 8pm every evening, I like to press the little wifi symbol on my phone so all access to the online world disappears. I’ve been doing this for about a month but a) sometimes you just need a break and b) my sleep is a lot better as I’m switching off earlier.

How did you relax in an evening?

EL xx

One thought on “Feeling Hygge at Winter

Comments are closed.