The Sunday Post #3

It’s Friday night.

The time is 8:18pm.

I’m in bed watching The Longest Ride whilst typing away..

lovelythings6

What I’ve Been Reading

This week, I’ve read A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney, My Husband The Stranger by Rebecca Done and right now, my current book of choice is All About The Hype by Paige Toon. For me, this is normal – I’m a bookworm through and through. With being out of work for the moment while I recover from surgery (more on that later), I’m trying to keep myself busy with activities.

lovelythings1

What I’ve Been Watching

In between reading, I’ve been catching up with films which I’ve been meaning to watch for months and with our Amazon fire stick allowing our household to be a click away, it’s easy as 1,2, 3 (aside from the mammoth choice)..

My Dad and I sat down to watch the remake of The Jungle Book (2016) on Monday afternoon. I used to love the film as a child and I heard really good things about the film when it was first released but I wasn’t overly crazy about watching it. I WAS VERY WRONG. It’s absolutely fantastic and I’m going to make the Mr watch it with a tub of popcorn as it’s one of my favourite remakes. P.S How damn cute were the wolf cubs?

If you read my book review of The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins, you’ll know that it was my favourite book of 2015. I couldn’t stop talking about it. When I work at Waterstones in Liverpool, I told every single customer about it and weeks later, they would come back and we’d discuss it in further detail. When I heard that it was being made into a film, I was stupidly excited and I finally got round to watching it this week. Emily Blunt is a brilliant actress and she portrayed Rachel superbly. I’m really pleased that they didn’t change the ending (sometimes films do that, and therefore the book is ruined).

If you live in the UK, you’ll know all about Sherlock on BBC1. I’ll hold my hands up: I’m not a die hard Sherlock Holmes fan; I’ve seen a few Elementary episodes with my Mum and the Robert Downey Jr films, but I haven’t seen all of the TV show but I’ve recently watched the last few seasons and I’m kinda hooked. I can’t wait for tonight’s episode as it was left on a rather big cliff hanger last week.

lovelythings2

Blogger Mail

When I first started blogging, I’d said YES to all the books and when I began including beauty and lifestyle into the mix, I continued to do so. My blog was crazy, I was posting every single day and it was tiring.

This year, I’m taking a different approach. This month, I’ve got 2-4 posts a week for you but that’s mainly because I’ve had time to read, try out products from Christmas/birthday and of course, I’m sharing my London posts. Now, I don’t sign up to a lot of products from brands and books from publishers but on the odd occasion, I say yes and it’s rather lovely when the post man drops a parcel in the porch.

This week, I received Dare To Remember by Susanna Beard from her publishers. I’m loving mystery, thrillers and crime at the moment and this sounds rather incredible.

next-2

Post-Surgery Update

It’s been a week since my operation and things have been a lot better than I thought they’d be. The pain isn’t all that bad; the gallstones themselves gave me more pain than the surgery after-math has (crazy, right?), but there have been days where my shoulders hurt, I cry over the stupidest of things and I can’t leave the house.

My bruises are yellow and purple at the moment, and my skin is beginning to itch which is a sign that it’s healing. My dressings have been changed and my wounds are quite a sight. They’ve been neatly done, full of dry blood (yuck) and they will leave little scars but in reality, it’s not the end of the world. The only side effect which I’ve really noticed is my balance and I’m not particularly certain if that’s normal..

On Friday, after 10 days of being bare faced, I popped on some makeup and managed to do a mini food shop without wincing in pain. Wearing a bra is a task in itself and most days, I have to opt without one (not when I leave the house though) because the pain is horrible.

I realise that was a rather long post..

EL xx
Twitter //  Instagram

10 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #3

  1. Hi Emma

    Sorry to hear that you’re having a rough time – hooray for being on the road to recovery. Embrace this time to take things slow and enjoy spending more time doing the things you love (reading!) completely guilt free. It’s an excuse for duvet days, cups of tea, chocolates and reading new books.

    Hope you feel better soon lovely.

    Stacey x

    Like

  2. Four books in a week?! I need to up my reading game aha.

    I think they missed out quite a few details in TGOTT film but I enjoyed it anyway, Emily Blunt is one of my favourite actors and I think she was fab.

    I hope you have a speedy recovery from your op xx

    Like

Comments are closed.