Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

sometimesilie_af

Published: 23rd March 2017
Publisher:
Harlequin
Pages:
384

Blurb:

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me:
1. I’m in a coma
2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore
3. Sometimes I lie

Review:

Thank you to Harlequin for kindly sending me a review copy.

The narrative begins with Amber in a coma on Boxing Day, unaware of what has happened to her and why she’s unable to move her body. Once her mind figures out the minor details, the plot flashes back to previous December days which see Amber at her radio job, bumping into an ex in Oxford Street and attempting to put the world to rights with multiple glasses of wine. The narrative continues to go back and forth throughout the time before the accident and when Paul, Amber’s husband comes to the hospital, something doesn’t feel quite right but then again: Amber isΒ a self-confessed liar.

“My body seems strangely unfamiliar, as though it might belong to someone else, but everything is accounted for, all the way down to my feet and toes. I can feel all ten of them and it brings such a sense of relief. I am all here in body and mind, I just need someone to switch me back on.”

At her radio job, things aren’t easy. Amber and her co-presenter Madeline don’t see eye-to-eye and after a quick word from her manager, she decides to put a plan into action but is she going about it the correct way? During her time in the coma, Amber is visited by a number of people: her husband, her sister, her parents, her friend Jo and a man who is desperately trying to kill her. As the plot progresses, readers hear from Amber as a child in diary form which I found to be rather interesting (it plays a bigger part in the plot than you will originally think!) as the entries reveal quite a lot about the childhood past and it’s not what you thought it would be. What a twist that was..

“Nana always said that books made better friends than people anyway. Books will take you anywhere if you let them…”

The ending of the narrative was absolutely fantastic and full of twists and turns which I didn’t expect. The plot managed to surprise me in more ways than one, the characters were incredible to read about and the storyline had been carved to perfection. I really liked the fact that Amber was exactly who she said she was:Β a liar and despite her being an unreliable narrator, she was such a strong character and I completely enjoyed the story that she told. Alice’s writing style is superb – an author to watch out for. I thoroughly recommend this book if you’re looking for a read which you won’t be able to put down.

“I’ve still got my scars, just because they’re on the inside doesn’t mean they’re not there.”

Β 

4 thoughts on “Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

Comments are closed.