Books · Home · Lifestyle

Bedside Table Reads

bedsidebooks

Books are my thing.

I’m sure you all know that.

At the beginning of the month, I had a huge clean of my room – gave a few clothing items to charity, threw a bunch of old lipsticks out (that’s never an easy task) and most of all, I sorted my books out.

I’m a bookworm without a bookcase.

Sad, I know.

With no bookcase, I still wanted to have my favourite books on show.

In my middle wardrobe at the top shelf, I have both my Harry Potter and Nicholas Sparks collection taking pride of place but then, I also wanted singular books to have somewhere.

That’s where my bedside table comes in…

bedsidebooks1bedsidebooks2bedsidebooks3

I always kept my current read on my bedside table, purely because it’s easy to reach and it’s a reminder that I ought to get some quality reading time done for the day.

At the time of writing this post (6th February), my current read is Dare To Remember by Susanna Beard – I’ve struggled getting into this, simply because my brain isn’t wanting to read at the moment but hopefully once I read a few more chapters, I’ll be able to sink my teeth into it. Keep your eyes open for a review.

Okay, onto the favourites…

Second Life by SJ Watson – Oh 2015, I read so many good books that year – this being one of them. SJ Watson writes the most amazing mysterious crime plots, I can’t even explain how he draws you into his imagination so much but holy Dumbledore, I was speechless when I met him. The end of this book is a complete WTF moment.

The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins – You all know this as my favourite read of 2015, I’m gone on about it SO many times, told multiple bloggers to read it and even got family/friends to enjoy it as well. It’s just one of those books you ought to read in your life – the plot captivated me like no other and I’ve reread it about five times now. It’s brilliant.

The Longest Holiday by Paige Toon (review on old blog *sobs*) – It’s no secret that I adore Paige and her books. When I met her a few years ago, I spoke about wanting an online place to share my reviews so she encouraged me to start a blog. Four and a half years later, I’m still here. This is my absolute favourite book of hers; it’s the ideal summer read and without fail, I always reread it in June/July. Plus, Leo is just one of those male characters who you would happily swoon for in real life.

The Little Book Of Hygge by Meik Wiking – As I’m a creature of comfort, being cosy is what I enjoy the most about Autumn and Winter. I feel like this is one of those coffee table books which you can pick up, read any chapter and put back down again. It’s not a book which you need to continually read and that’s what I really like about it.

Reasons To Stay Alive by Matt Haig – Whenever I see someone having a day filled with anxiety on Twitter, I always like to recommend them this book because it really helped me  to understand my own Mental Health. It’s the kind of book which doctors ought to hand out to patients who are struggling and don’t really understand what’s going on in their own mind.

EL xx
Twitter
 // Instagram

