Books: My Top Recommendations

I love books.

They’re the reason I started blogging in the first place.

Almost five years later, I’m still here.

Amongst the beauty products, the travel photos and the fashion posts, I try my hardest to share my thoughts about as many books as I possibly can. Guaranteed, they’re not as frequent as I’d like but there are plenty on my TBR list so lots are coming…

On Twitter, I get asked a lot for book recommendations and my first question is always, “which genre do you like to read?”

When you know what type of book you enjoy to read, you quickly become aware of so many authors, but how can you know which ones are superb?

I decided to put a list together of my top recommendations for a handful of genres, so next time someone asks me, I can point them in the direction of this blog post.

I’ll link to as many of my book reviews as possible so you can get more of an in-depth review of my thoughts. The ones in red are clickable links – FYI.

booksbooks1books2

CHICK-LIT // WOMEN’S FICTION

Two of the strongest genres in the book industry – there are so many wonderful authors and believe me when I say, this was flipping hard to narrow down. I’ve opted for my ultimate favourites: the authors whose books I always look forward to reading, ones who never fail to impress me and who really draw me into their plots.

Paige Toon
(FYI, I’ve read all of Paige’s books but majority of them are on my old blog which has now been deleted but still, she’s top of the list!).
Lucy in the Sky (2007)
Johnny Be Good (2008) – note, this is the first in a series.
Chasing Daisy (2009)
Pictures Of Lily (2010)
Baby Be Mine (2011) – second in the Johnny series.
One Perfect Summer (2012)
One Perfect Christmas (2012) – ebook only/short story after One Perfect Summer.
The Longest Holiday (2013) – my personal favourite.
Johnny’s Girl (2013) – ebook only/part of the Johnny series.
Thirteen Weddings (2014)
The Sun In Her Eyes (2015)
The One We Fell In Love With (2016)
The Last Piece Of My Heart (2017) – review coming soon!

Giovanna Fletcher
Billy And Me (2013)
You’re The One That I Want (2014)
Dream A Little Dream (2015)
Always With Love (2016)

Laura Tait & Jimmy Rice
The Best Thing That Never Happened To Me (2014)
The Night That Changed Everything (2016)

Jenny Colgan
Little Beach Street Bakery (2014)
Summer At Little Beach Street Bakery (2015)

Carole Matthews
The Cake Shop In The Garden
(2015)
The Chocolate Lovers’ Christmas (2015)
Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses (2017)

Milly Johnson
The Teashop On The Corner (2014)
Afternoon Tea At The Sunflower Café (2015)

Lucy Diamond
One Night In Italy (2014)
The Year Of Taking Chances (2015)

Joanna Bolouri
The List (2014) – aka. the funniest book you’ll ever read

Isabelle Broom
A Year and a Day (2016)
Then. Now. Always (2017)

Veronica Henry
A Night On The Orient Express (2013)

ROMANCE

Emma, why is romance different to chick-lit/women’s fiction? It just is, okay? Romance books focus solely on the love between two people whereas chick-lit sometimes has a sub-slot about jobs, children etc. That’s just what I’ve come up with anyway.

Nicholas Sparks
(Just like Paige Toon, I’ve read all of Nicholas Sparks’ books yet not all have been reviewed on my blog).
The Notebook (1996)
Message In A Bottle (1998)
A Walk To Remember (1999)
The Rescue (2000)
A Bend In The Road (2001)
Nights In Rodanthe (2002)
The Wedding (2003)
The Guardian (2003)
At First Sight (2005)
True Believer (2005)
Dear John (2006)
The Choice (2007)
The Last Song (2009)
Safe Haven (2010)
The Best Of Me (2011)
The Longest Ride (2013)
See Me (2015)
Two By Two (2016)

S.C Stephens
Thoughtless (2009)
Effortless (2011)
Reckless (2013)

CRIME // MYSTERY // THRILLER

Throughout the last few years, I’ve really been enjoying crime, mystery and thriller novels. I’ve decided to put them all into one because most plots have a mixture of three.

Paula Hawkins
The Girl On The Train (2015)

S J Watson
Second Life (2016)

C L Taylor
The Missing (2016)
The Lie (2015)

Lucy Dawson
You Sent Me A Letter (2016)
Everything You Told Me (2017)

Sharon Guskin
The Forgetting Time (2016)

YOUNG ADULT

I may be 26 years old, but I still love reading YA because there is something quite addictive about the genre.

Stephanie Perkins
(You can read these books as stand alones, but Isla + Lola feature characters from the previous books so if you want to be familiar with them, read in this order).
Anna And The French Kiss (2014)
Lola And The Boy Next Door (2014)
Isla And The Happily Ever After (2014)

Jennifer Niven
All The Bright Places (2015)
Holding Up The Universe (2016)

Paige Toon
(Yup, not only does Paige write Chick-Lit, she also writes YA. These books follow on from the Johnny series about his daughter).
The Accidental Life Of Jessie Jefferson (2014)
I Knew You Were Trouble (2015)
All About The Hype (2016)

Holly Bourne
Soulmates (2013)
The Manifesto On How To Be Interesting (2014)
Am I Normal Yet? (2015) – Book #1 in The Spinster Club
How Hard Can Love Be? (2016) – Book #2 in The Spinster Club
What’s A Girl Gotta Do? (2016) – Book #3 in The Spinster Club

Louise O’Neill
Asking For It (2016)
Only Ever Yours (2015)

AND…

That is all the recommendations I have for you, so far…

This page will be updated when I feel like a book is worthy of a recommendation so if you want to keep on top of it, make sure to bookmark it!

If you have any, leave them in the comments!

EL xx
Twitter // Instagram

7 thoughts on “Books: My Top Recommendations

  1. I loved this post! I used to read constantly but have fallen away from it recently. Definitely saving this post to come back to as I have a huge TBR list but there’s always room for more! Thanks so much for sharing!
    Claire xo

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness! There are so many books! I am definitely bookmarking this page because I always find myself struggling to find more books to read! Thank you for this! Also, over the past year or so my favorite author has become KA Tucker, who is more of a romance writer, and I’m obsessed with her books! They are the only books I’ve read more than once and constantly recommend! I’ve actually reviewed two on my blog if you’re interested! 🙂

    ♥ Kelsey
    http://www.tickledgreeneblog.com

    Like

  3. Love this post! I find it really difficult to get into a good book but the last one I read was The Girl on the Train. I’ll have to try one of your recommendations and see how I get on! Danielle || Miss Danielle

    Like

    1. Thank you, lovely. Not being able to get into a book is such a horrible feeling, but once you find one which you can get lost in, its worth it. Let me know which book you read next x

      Like

Comments are closed.