Travel

Postcards from The Lake District

The Lake District is a place I’ve always wanted to visit.

It’s just over an hour away from where I live, so when Mike had some holidays to use up, we decided to book a last minute trip to Kendal, Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere and Ambleside.

We were for two days and I took a ridiculous amount of pictures so I’ve (somehow) narrowed it down to my favourites to share with you.

12

612

Kendal was first on our agenda and the area that we decided to stay in.

There are plenty of cute B&B’s in the town, but we opted for a Travelodge on the motorway which is about a ten minute drive from the main area. We arrived with rubbish weather following us from Liverpool and with us both in desperate need of a brew, we parked our bums in a local pub to catch the second half of the Man United match (to my delight!).

1621243538

Once we left the pub, we visited Kendal Castle.

Top tip: don’t go there when it’s been raining or is still raining.

We made that idiotic mistake and I spent majority of the time, clinging onto Mike, trying not to slip in the mud. The view was worth it though. After that, we went in search of another pub, this time to watch the Liverpool game (our lives basically revolve around football, if you didn’t know) and we were quite lucky to discover an Italian two minutes down the road.

I can highly recommend Paulo Giannis if you’re in the area. We had a garlic pizza to share (which was SO cheesy, but so good) and I had Alla Panna for main which is meat tortellini with ham and mushrooms bound in a white wine cream sauce. I could easily eat that again.

After stuffing our faces, we had an early night.

42454851

The following morning in Kendal, we went for breakfast at Brew Brothers.

We both went for the pancakes with crispy pancetta, maple syrup and a cup of tea. Holy Dumbledore, that was one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had. Truly delicious.

565859

The one thing which I really love about Kendal (and the Lake District) in general is that, every corner you turn, there’s something worth taking a photo of. It’s a very picturesque place and I couldn’t help myself, so after breakfast, we spent a good fifteen minutes wandering down the high street back to the car, spotting every two seconds.

That’s the life of a blogger.

83858690739193

Within twenty minutes or so, we were in Windermere and after a brief walk around the town (I didn’t take that many pictures), we headed to the Lake which is SO worth the walk.

Thankfully, the weather had cleared up and it turned out to be a rather beautiful day. The lake is extremely picturesque and full of tourists no matter the time of year. After a while, we were in need of a pick-me-up as we hadn’t eaten since breakfast. I had previously googled where the best hot chocolate in Windermere was and ChoccoBar popped up.

Holy Dumbledore (I realise I’ve said that twice now), it is insanely good.

Rich, solid, chocolate which you can add pretty much any flavour to. I went for chocolate and Mike went for salted caramel. You’re given a lady finger, a pot of fruit and a pot of cream (I can’t have cream so they kindly gave me two pots of fruit) and we sat outside sipping on our delicious hot chocolates in the sunshine.

Oh, they were flipping good.

103104122123125

Our final stop was Ambleside, a cute little village which is perfect for Instagram content. We only spent an hour here as there isn’t a great deal to see, but on the drive home, we pulled in to a side lane near a farm and was greeted by this incredible view.

We had such a lovely couple of days in the Lake District and I’m certain we’ll be going back again to explore different areas. It was rather nice to have some well deserved time away from social media and to just chill out.

EL xx
Twitter // Instagram 

4 thoughts on “Postcards from The Lake District

  1. Beautiful photos! Your ones of scenery are my favourite because that’s what I’m into but your food photography is exceptional, that hot choc looks divine!
    I haven’t been to the Lake District (Ambleside) since I was in school over 10 years ago 😦 looking forward to going back with a bloggers perspective x

    Like

Comments are closed.