-- · Books

How I Read So Often

You all know how much I love books.

I get asked on a daily basis on Twitter for recommendations, what I’m currently reading and how I manage to read so often.

It’s quite simple, really.

It’s mainly because I’ve loved books for years and the enjoyment in which I get from reading will never go away, but that’s just me. 

books1

Bookshop Browse.

A lot of people buy their books through Amazon and I’m one of those people, but you know what I really like doing?

Going into Waterstones or the book aisle in a supermarket and seeing which books are on the shelves.

That way, it gives you an idea of which genre you want to read next and hopefully, you’ll find something which catches your eye.

I tend not to look for reviews online simply because not everyone has grasped the fact that spoiling a book is a big fat no.

BUT, I do like to search for the book on Twitter to see what a variety of people are saying (I’m afraid you will sometimes come across spoilers that way as well).

Next time you’re in the supermarket or your local town where Waterstones is, pop in and have a browse around.

Utilise Your Journeys.

If you’re on a bus, train, plane or boat, use this time to bring a book along with you.

Majority of the time, I’ll take a bigger handbag with me purely so I can take a book with me because you never know when you’re going to be waiting for public transport, or how long for.

No matter how long your journey is: ten minutes on the tube, a three hour flight somewhere or a boat trip across the Greek Islands – take a book with you, zone out and use your imagination for a little while.

If you’re someone who gets travel sick by looking down, I feel sorry for you.

First Thing, Last Thing.

When I wake up in the morning, I’ll go to the bathroom, pop on the kettle and climb back into bed (depending on if I have to be somewhere first thing). I’ll usually pick my phone up, catch up on social media and the news while having a brew.

Oh how times have changed.

Instead of checking up on social media, I’ll pick up my current read and spend a good half an hour to an hour reading. I’ve been doing this for quite a while now and seriously, I feel so much better about the day ahead.

You can cheekily catch up on social media at any time of the day, but can you read a chapter without your boss noticing?

The answer is no.

With it being Autumn, all the good TV choices are out in full force but once a week, I like to switch off about 7pm with a good book, a few candles lit and my bedside light being the only source.

It’s flipping bliss, let me tell you.

books

I can chat for hours about how you can read more often but the above three are the ones which really work for me and have done throughout majority of my life.

However, there are a few more…

  • Read on your lunch break.
  • If the Mr watches the football and you’re not a fan or it’s not your team, then read
  • Start reviewing which will urge you to read more.
  • Ask for Waterstones/Amazon vouchers for birthday and/or Christmas in order to purchase a book which you’d like to read.
  • Chat with book bloggers. Seriously, we have a lot of recommendations for you.
  • Challenge yourself to a Goodreads challenge for the year.
  • If you don’t particularly want to read, listen to a book.

EL xx
Twitter // Instagram

4 thoughts on “How I Read So Often

  1. Definitely usueless journeys!!
    I always try to take a book with me so I can read on my busroute from and to work.
    I also always have a book near my bed so that I can read in the evenings before I go to bed 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve been wanting to get back into reading for so long now! When I was a kid and all the way through my high school years I used to read so much! But since I was about 16 I’ve read about 2 books. I really want to get back into it because I used to love it so much! Theres nothing like getting stuck into a good book and not being able to put it down! I’ve recently bought some new books so hopefully that will get me reading again, it’s just finding the time!

    Like

Comments are closed.