Lifestyle

Surviving The Darker Days

Ooh, the title is a bit deep isn’t it? 

Since the clocks went back, we’re greeted by dark mornings and even darker evenings. We barely see the daylight, the fresh is crisp and the frost has returned.

I’ve never had an issue with the darker months. Over time, I’ve learnt how to embrace them, make the most of them and enjoy them. After all, they’re here each year and we can’t exactly change that.

I don’t have many tips, but the ones which do work for me, I’ve decided to share…

Costa1

Getting out of bed in the morning is a struggle 365 days a year, so making it easier for yourself will give you that boost of motivation to get up, get ready and get out. Help your future self by deciding what to wear the night before, line your makeup up in the order you apply it, set your breakfast out, make sure your bag is organised for the following day and pack yourself a little treat.

A lunch time stroll may be the only way you’ll see daylight, so make the most of it. If the weather isn’t torrential rain, head outside for fresh air either before or after your lunch. It’ll give you a chance to step away from your computer, pop your phone in your pocket and for 10-20 minutes, you can recharge your batteries before heading back inside.

Costa2

Planning for the weekend ahead on Tuesday is something the Mr and I have got into the swing of as he really isn’t a fan of the darker months. We use websites such as Visit Liverpool and Visit Manchester to see what is happening in our local cities as well as going bowling, seeing what is on at the cinema, organising our annual trip to London and even seeing if there’s a yoga class on at my local gym on the mornings.

Creating a cosy environment is always top of my list in an evening whether I’m reading in my room or writing a blog post at the table downstairs, I like to have an inviting atmosphere. Whether it’s a nice scented candle or arranging fairy lights around your window sill or treating yourself to a cute hot water bottle – do what you need to do in preparation to make yourself feel cosy.

I know that these tips are very straight forward but for someone who used to hate the darker months, I have eventually adapted and it’s allowed me to be in control of how I feel during October – January.

If you have any others, please feel free to share!

EL xx
Twitter // Instagram

5 thoughts on “Surviving The Darker Days

  1. Yes! Planning ahead is s important. I don’t actually do it, of course, but the intention is there. Tonight shall be the night that I prepare everything for the following day…perhaps. I especially like the idea of packing a treat so that’s something to motivate me!

    Like

Let's have a chat..

